Managing Group Roles

The Roles tab under the main Team section is a place where you can view the access levels of the preset roles or create a custom role.

PRESET ROLES

PresetRoles

Preset Roles are those group assignments that come with Enjion by default.  They are the most common roles that we felt would be used or needed by our users. The preset roles can’t be edited or deleted but if you need access requirements that aren’t met by them you can create a custom group (see below). Preset Roles include:

Administrator – This role gives access to every functionality to those users assigned to this group. This includes being able to create, edit and delete apps, records, users and groups as well as being able to upgrade the account itself. The Administrator role is suitable for those users who should be able to view and administer all apps and data accessible to a team. Administrators can also manage the team’s Enjion account.

Contributor – This role gives its users access to view assigned apps, edit & delete entries made by the user as well as upload files. The Contributor role is suited for those users who should only be able to view, submit, create, modify or delete their own data within an app. Contributors cannot create apps.

Editor – This role is similar to the Administrator role with a few exceptions. It can do everything an Administrator can except upgrade the account, manage other users & roles and modify share settings. The Editor role is suitable for those users who should be able to view and administer all apps and data accessible to a team.

Author – This roles can create, shared, edit, and delete as well as explore the data of the users apps. The Author role is suitable for those users who should be able to view, submit create their data in addition others’ data within specific apps. They can create and administer their own apps, but not others’.

Subscriber – This role is intended for the general user of your Enjion app. They are able to use the apps that have been shared with them as well as view and edit their own data in the explore view. The subscriber role is suited for those users who should only access data, but neither create nor modify any data or settings of the app.

Submitter – The Submitter role is suited for those users who should only be able to submit data to an app.

CUSTOM ROLES

PresetRoles

If you have specific access needs that aren’t met by the preset roles you can make a custom one.  To do this look for the “Create a new Role” label and click on it. A menu will slide out from the right revealing the options to name the new role and select each of the access levels. An exhaustive list of all user access in the article List of all User Access Levels

To delete a custom group go to the “role” drop down menu in the groups sub-menu and select “Delete Role”

DeleteGroup

Updated on September 19, 2017

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles